Lawmakers from the East African Legislative Assembly (EALA) are meeting in Nairobi from 12-23 May to promote ambitious plans to form a customs and monetary union and political federation similar to the European Union among members of the East African Community (EAC) regional bloc comprising Kenya, Tanzania, Uganda, Rwanda and Burundi within the next four years.

Inaugurated in 2001, EALA is the legislative arm of the EAC, which is based in Arusha, Tanzania.

The lawmakers are also debating the EAC

Wanted in Africa
Wanted in Africa
Wanted in Africa, part of the Wanted Worldwide network, is a website in English for expatriates in Africa established in 2006. We cover Europe's news stories that may be of interest to English speaking residents along with tourists as well. Our publication also offers classifieds, photos, information on events, museums, churches, galleries, exhibits, fashion, food, and local travel.
Previous article Faces of Kenyan IDPs exhibition.
Next article Faces of Kenyan IDPs exhibition.