President Mwai Kibaki of the Party of National Unity (PNU) and prime minister-designate Raila Odinga of the Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) have agreed on a 40-member cabinet under the terms of the power-sharing agreement signed at the end of February. The new government will be announced on 6 April and the ministers sworn in at a special ceremony at Uhuru Park in central Nairobi on 12 April.

Kibaki and Odinga had been under growing local and international pressure to form a government after delays due to disagreement over the number and distribution of ministerial posts. The