The Electoral Commission of Kenya (ECK) has declared Mwai Kibaki of the Party of National Unity (PNU) the winner of the presidential elections of 27 December. Official results give the incumbent president 4,584,721 votes against the 4,352,993 votes taken by his closest competitor, the leader of the opposition party Orange Democratic Movement (ODM) Raila Odinga. The third main candidate, Stephen Musyoka of ODM-Kenya, trailed with 879,903 votes.

Protests immediately broke out in Nairobi