President John Atta-Mills of the National Democratic Congress (NDC) has completed his cabinet line-up just over three weeks after being sworn into office. The new government consists of 23 ministers against the previous 27, after the head of state decided to reorganise the public administration to reduce expenditure.

Former central bank governor Kwabena Duffuor is the new finance minister while the defence portfolio has gone to retired lieutenant-general Joseph Smith. Other key appointments include lawyer Mohammed Mumuni as foreign minister, lawyer Betty Mould Iddrisu as justice minister and attorney general, and former director of power at the energy ministry Joe Oteng Adjei now becomes minister for energy. The latter will have responsibility for overseeing the start of offshore commercial oil production in Ghana, which is scheduled for 2010.

The new ministers must now be confirmed by parliament.

Wanted in Africa
Wanted in Africa
Wanted in Africa, part of the Wanted Worldwide network, is a website in English for expatriates in Africa established in 2006. We cover Europe's news stories that may be of interest to English speaking residents along with tourists as well. Our publication also offers classifieds, photos, information on events, museums, churches, galleries, exhibits, fashion, food, and local travel.
Previous article Kwame Nkrumah centenary celebrations.
Next article Kwame Nkrumah centenary celebrations.