Afrobasket for Women returns to Maputo

Afrobasket for Women in Maputo is not only the most important event for women basketball players on the continent, it also serves as the qualifying round for the women’s world basketball championships in 2014.

There are 12 countries playing in Maputo. In Group A teams are Algeria, Ivory Coast, Egypt, Mozambique, Senegal and Zimbabwe: in Group B there are Angola, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Kenya, Mali and Nigeria.

The two top teams will go through to the 16-team world championships scheduled in Turkey in 2014.

Teams to watch are Angola, the defending champions and Senegal the runners-up in 2011 and the continent’s most successful team (with 10 titles to its name).

Afrobasket for Women was previously held in Mozambique in 2003.