The annual African Footballer of the Year award function is to take place in Lagos on 10 February, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) has said. The ceremony should have been held in Benin in December 2008 but was postponed until January in Dakar and has now been moved once again, this time to Lagos to secure the presence of all nominated players at the event.

This year for the first time there are to be two awards: best player on the continent and best player across the world. The shortlist for the first category comprises Mohamed Aboutreika (Al-Ahly, Egypt), Ahmed Hassan (Al-Ahly, Egypt), Flavio Amado (Al-Ahly, Angola), Tresor Mputu Mabi (T.P. Mazembe, Democratic Republic of Congo) and Stephen Worgu (Enyimba, Nigeria). Candidates for the global award are Mohamed Aboutreika (Al-Ahly, Egypt), Emmanuel Adebayor (Arsenal, Togo), Amr Zaki (Wigan Athletic, Egypt), Didier Drogba (Chelsea, Cote d

General Info