Dar es Salaam to get more administrative areas

City plans to improve services for increasing population

The number of administrative areas in Dar es Salaam may increase in July as part of efforts to improve services for the city's 4.5 million residents.

The city is waiting proposals from its three municipal councils before a regional consultative meeting to discuss the process, which is expected to be complete by the start of the next fiscal year in July.

Currently the city comprises three districts of Temeke, Kinondoni and Ilala, all of which have their own municipal councils.

The plan to divide Dar es Salaam into more administrative areas was first aired last April at the Tanzanian parliament in the capital Dodoma.

In addition to Dar es Salaam's rapidly expanding population, the city also accommodates a daily influx of commuters from the nearby towns of Bagamoyo, Kibaha and Mkuranga.