Eight Nations international tournament in Cape Town

Cape Town welcomes the Eight Nations international football tournament, open to players under the age of 20, from 25 May to 3 June.

Organised by the Cape Town division of the South African Football Association, the tournament features eight teams from Cameroon, Argentina, Kenya, Ghana, Nigeria, Japan and Brazil as well as hosts South Africa.

The eight squads have been divided into two groups: Group A comprises South Africa, Argentina, Nigeria and Ghana, while Group B has Brazil, Cameroon, Kenya and Japan.

The games kick off in Athlone Stadium on 25 May when South Africa play Argentina at 18.00, and Ghana face Nigeria at 20.30. The next day in Cape Town Stadium, Kenya play Japan at 14.00 and Brazil take on Cameroon at 16.30. On 27 May also in Cape Town Stadium, South Africa face Ghana at 14.00 and Argentina play Nigeria at 16.30.

On 28 May in Athlone Stadium, Brazil play Kenya at 18.00, and Cameroon play Japan at 20.30. On 29 May at Cape Town Stadium, South Africa face Nigeria at 18.00 while Argentina play Ghana at 20.30. The next day in Athlone Stadium, Brazil play Japan at 18.00 and Cameroon take on Kenya at 20.30.

These games will be followed by the semi-finals on 1 June before the final on 3 June.

The tournament is referred to variously as Cape Town International Under-20 Challenge, Eight Nations Cup and the 8 Nation under 20 International Football Challenge.